August 2023 Noteworthy

August 9, 2023

Suse Anderson (Museum Studies) compiled “The State of Museum Digital Practice,” a collection of essays by graduate students in the Museum Studies Program.

Jared Boot-Haury, Grad Cert ’20, (LGBT Health Policy & Practice) was a recipient of the Division 44 Transgender Research Award.

Lisa Bowleg (Psychology) won the 2023 James S. Jackson Memorial Award from the National Institute of Mental Health.

Dana Tai Soon Burgess (Dance) published the book Milestones in Dance History (Routledge, 2023).

PhD candidate Camilla Cannon (American Studies) was named a 2023 Henry F. May Fund Fellow by the Society for U.S. Intellectual History.

Stephanie Cellini (Public Policy and Public Administration, Economics) testified at a hearing of the House Committee on Education and the Workforce. Her testimony was covered by Inside Higher Education.

Tanya Chutkan, BA ’83, (Economics) was featured by ABC News in the article “Who is Tanya Chutkan, the judge assigned to the latest Trump case?

Zinhle Essamuah, BA ’15, MA ’17, (Journalism & Mass Communication) was named co-anchor of NBC News Daily.

Ling Hao (Chemistry) received a $34,747 grant from the University of Pittsburgh to decipher a novel mechanism for iron-sensing at mitochondria and its role in erythropoiesis.

Jesse Holland (Media and Public Affairs) appeared on an episode of History’s Greatest Mysteries on the History Channel.

Zeita Merchant, MPA ’10, (Public Administration) is the first Black woman selected for flag rank in the U.S. Coast Guard’s 233 years.

Lenore D. Miller, MFA ’72, (Graphics); Michael Harrison, MA ’97, (Museum Studies); and Darin Johnson, MA ’97, (Political Management) guest curated the exhibit Tony Sarg: Genius at Play at the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge, Mass.

Harris Mylonas (Political Science) co-authored the book Varieties of Nationalism (Cambridge University Press, 2023).

Olivia Petersen, BA ’10, (Political Communication) was named vice president of public relations for The Washington Post.

Allison Robbert, BFA ’26, (Photojournalism) was accepted into the U.S. Senate Photographic Services’ class of interns.

Courtney Sexton, MS ’19, PhD ’23, (Human Paleobiology) published research on canine communication in the journal Animals.

Chet Sherwood (Anthropology) received a $19,428 grant from the National Science Foundation to study the neurobiological integration of social perception and visceral awareness in hominids and other large-brained mammals.

Caroline Smith (University Writing) published the book Season to Taste: Rewriting Kitchen Space in Contemporary Women’s Food Memoirs (University Press of Mississippi, 2023).

John Sutter (Environmental Media) won the 2023 Sharon Begley Award for Science Reporting from the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing.

James Zarsadiaz, BA ’08, (Political Science, American Studies) won the 2023 Lawrence W. Levine Award from the Organization of American Historians for his book Resisting Change in Suburbia: Asian Immigrants and Frontier Nostalgia in L.A. (University of California Press, 2022).