"Noteworthy" is a monthly compilation of important awards, achievements and grants received by Columbian College faculty, students and alumni. Articles published in academic journals are also included among these recognitions.

View Noteworthy Archive


Recent Recognition

Tariq Adely (Anthropology) received a $12,251 award from the National Science Foundation for research on his doctoral dissertation “Crafting Arabic: Labor, Technology, and Ideologies of Value Among Language Workers in Jordan.”

Lisa Bowleg (Psychology) received a $21,090 grant from the National Institutes of Health to develop and validate a quantitative measure of daily intersectional stigma experiences for Black people with disabilities.

Leah Brooks (Public Policy & Public Administration) began a three-year term as co-editor of Regional Science and Urban Economics.

Larry Cook, MFA ’13, (Fine Arts) received a Gordon Parks 2024 Fellowship.

Alex Donahue (Interior Architecture) won the 2023 GOOD DESIGN award for his gradient watch design.

Photojournalism alumni Wendy Galietta, BFA ’06, and Nick Kirkpatrick, BFA ’10, were awarded the 2023 Innovative Award from the National Press Foundation.

Sylvain Guiriec (Physics) was invited by the Office for Science and Technology of the Embassy of France to present research on gamma-ray bursts to the France Science Network.

Tony Palermo, BA ’91, MPA ’93, (Political Communication) received the Roland Eastwood Planner of the Year Award.

Photojournalism student Allison Robbert won “Student Best in Show” at the Women Photojournalists of Washington’s 17th Annual Photography and Multimedia Exhibition.

Silvio Waisbord (Media & Public Affairs) was named editor of the International Journal of Communication.