September 2023 Noteworthy

September 13, 2023

First-year student Zach Brody was featured on ESPN KidsCast and highlighted by CHRON in the article “Pair of young Connecticut broadcasters call Major League Baseball game on ESPN.”

Turni Chakrabarti, PhD ’22, (English) was appointed assistant dean of outreach and communications for the Jindal School of Languages and Literature at the O.P. Jindal Global University in India.

U.S. District Court Judge and CCAS alumna Tanya Chutkan, BA ’83, (Economics) will preside over former President Trump's election conspiracy trial in Washington, D.C.

David DeGrazia (Philosophy) authored the book ​​Dialogues on Gun Control (Routledge, 2023).

Evangeline J. Downie (Physics) received a $356,158 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to create the first simultaneous measurement of muon and electron scattering on the proton in the Muon Proton Scattering Experiment (MUSE).

Jared Heern, PhD ’22, (Political Science), published the article “Who’s Regulating Our Energy Future? Industry and Environmental Representation on United States Public Utility Commissions” in Energy Research & Social Science.

PhD student Mackenzie Hepker (Anthropology) and Chet Sherwood (Anthropology) were awarded the NSF DDRIG grant and The Leakey Foundation Research Award. They also published a chapter in the book Self Face Recognition and the Brain (Routledge, 2023).

Oleg Kargaltsev (Physics) received a $72,050 grant from the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory to study pulsar wind nebulae in the supernova remnant known as CTA 1.

Sherry Molock (Psychology) received a $1,495,039 grant from the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention to support HAVEN, a multi-generational suicide prevention program in African American churches.

Ebtissam Oraby (Classical & Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations) received a $18,000 grant from the Social Science Research Council to study Muslim epistemologies and science education in pluralist societies.

Scott Powell (Biology) was awarded a $645,000 four-year project from NSF to address fundamental questions about how competition shapes both the production and maintenance of biodiversity. 

Gabriela Rosenblau (Psychology) received a $23,913 grant from the Simons Foundation to support the 2023-2024 Shenoy Undergraduate Research Fellowship in Neuroscience.

Marya Rozanova-Smith (Geography) received a $717,355 from NSF to inform residents and policymakers on how changes in climate and water cycles impact people living in cold regions.

Erik Schelzig, MA ’99, (Political Science) published the book Welcome to Capitol Hill (Vanderbilt University Press, 2023).

Chet C. Sherwood (Anthropology) received a $19,428 grant from NSF to characterize evolved brain traits that integrate social cognition with deep awareness of the body. 

John Sutter won the Sharon Begley Award for Science Reporting from the  Council for the Advancement of Science Writing.

Cheryl W. Thompson (Journalism) won a National Association of Black Journalists Salute to Excellence award for a collaboration she oversaw between NPR, WABE in Atlanta and Georgia Public Broadcasting on an investigation into how officials changed laws after the 2020 presidential election.

Bernard Wood (Anthropology) received the Royal Anthropological Institute’s President’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ellen Yeung (Psychology) received a $424,194 award from the National Institutes of Health to study alcohol use disorder and chronic pain.

William Youmans (Media & Public Affairs) received a $6,000 grant from the Palestine Foundation to support his documentary film, Who Killed Alex Odeh?

George Younes (Physics) received grants totaling $304,536 from the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center for magnetar monitoring projects.