November 2023 Noteworthy

November 8, 2023

Sayed Hassan Akhlaq (Religion) authored the book Intellectual and Spiritual Debates in Islam – A Comprehensive Guide to Islamic Discourse’s Intellectual Origins (Cluj University Press, 2023).

Elisabeth Anker (American Studies) received Honorable Mention for the John Hope Franklin Prize for her book Ugly Freedoms (Duke University Press, 2022).

Celeste Arrington (Political Science) won the Distinguished Article Award by the Asian Law and Society Association for their article “Knowledge Production through Legal Mobilization: Environmental Activism Against the U.S. Military Bases in East Asia” in the journal Law & Society Review.

Lisa Bowleg (Psychology) received a $12,154 grant from the National Institutes of Health to extend current intersectional stigma research on HIV care for Black men in the southern United States.

Christopher Cahill (Chemistry) was awarded a $147,276 grant from the Department of Energy to support his work for the Consortium for Nuclear Forensics.

Elizabeth Chacko and Marie Price (Geography) co-authored the book (Un)Settled Sojourners in Cities: Challenges of “Temporariness” among Migrants and Asylum Seekers (Routledge, 2023).

Alicia Cooperman (Political Science) wrote the article “Bloc Voting for Electoral Accountability” in American Political Science Review.

Graduate student Courtney Cooperman (Public Policy) authored the article “Transit Diary: A Foggy Bottom resident leans on transit and walking to move herself (and a lot of corn) around town” for Greater Greater Washington.

Danielle Gilbert, MA ’16, PhD ’20 (Political Science) won the Best Article Award from the International Security Studies Section of the International Studies Association for their paper "The Logic of Kidnapping in Civil War” in the American Political Science Review.

Samuel Goldman (Political Science) received a $25,000 fellowship from The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation.

Patricia Hernandez (Biology) was named president of the Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology—the first woman from an underrepresented minority group to hold the position in the society’s 133-year history.

Steven Livingston (Media & Public Affairs) gave a keynote address at the University of Bern in Switzerland. 

Stephen Mitroff (Psychology) was awarded a $413,409 grant from the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command for his project, PARADIGMS: Platform for Accelerating Research and Development that is Integrative and Generative over Massive Scales.

First-year student Lea Nepomuceno (Criminal Justice, Journalism) was featured by KPBS, San Diego for co-founding the organization, Beauty Beyond Bars.

Irene Oh (Religion) wrote the book What is Religious Ethics? An Introduction (Routledge, 2023).

Jason Osder and Will Youmans (Media & Public Affairs) won the 2023 Alex Odeh Award for their filmmaking and advocacy.

Patricia Phalen (Media & Public Affairs) was quoted by Barron's in the article “AI Took Center Stage In the Writers Strike. It’s ‘Just the Tip of the Iceberg.’

Dumi Right (Music) released their latest single, “Life Is What You Make It,” featuring hip-hop artists Chubb Rock, YZ and Chuck D.

Sophomore Allison Robbert (Photojournalism) was featured in the article “The surprising benefits of switching to ‘lamb mowers’” in The Washington Post.

Nina Seavey (Media & Public Affairs) signed an agreement to co-executive produce a documentary series, The Plot to Kill a King, for State Street Pictures. Her essay “The Bar, 1982” was nominated by the editors of The Nassau Review for the 2024 Pushcart Prize in Creative Nonfiction.

Janet Steele (Media & Public Affairs) authored the book Malaysiakini and the Power of Independent Media in Malaysia (NUS Press, 2023).

David Szakonyi (Political Science) published the article “Individuals and Organizations as Sources of State Effectiveness” in the American Economic Review.

Silvio Waisbord (Media & Public Affairs) co-authored the chapter “What Defines Journalism in/from the Global South?: Insights from Latin America” in The Routledge Companion to Journalism in the Global South.