November 2017 Kudos

November 08, 2017

Robert BakerMolly Orlando and Susan Derry’s work on the UrbanArias' opera Shining Brow was featured in The Washington PostDC Metro Theatre Arts and Washington Classical Review.

Lynne E. Bernstein is participating in a $312,352 Facebook-sponsored contract on enhancing speech learnability by optimizing how vibrotactile speech interfaces with the brain's speech systems.

Joel Blecher authored the book Said the Prophet of God: Hadith Commentary across a Millennium (University of California Press, 2017).

Debbie Cenziper spoke to visiting journalists from Asia at the Meridian International Center.

Diane Cline presented her work on social networks in ancient Athens at the National Hellenic Society’s annual gathering. Eric Cline spoke on a Trojan War panel at the conference.

Susan Dudley received a $28,000 contract from Inter-American Development Bank to study building institutional capacity for smarter regulation.

Robert Entman was awarded a $287,645 contract from Scripps Networks Interactive Inc. for his project on TVN News’ practices assessment.

Valentina Harizanov lectured on “Aspects of Computation” at the National University of Singapore.

Psychology doctoral candidate Sidney Holt was awarded the Outstanding Student Abstract Award for the 2017 Annual Conference of the American Public Health Association.

The Institute for Documentary Filmmaking student production Life In Strides won the Audience Award for Best Student Film at the Awareness Film Festival, and the award for best editing at the Austin Under the Stars Film Festival.

Robert Isaacson, PhD ’17, published "The James Bond of Cherbourg: Imagining Israel in Pompidou's France" in French Historical Studies.

Political Science junior Jazmin Kay was named one of the “22 Under 22 Most Inspiring College Women” by Her Campus.

Dina Khoury delivered a lecture on “Iraq Twentieth Century Wars and the Making of Iraqui present” at Simon Fraser University.

Jisoo Kim spoke at the Human Rights Violation of the Comfort Women event sponsored by SOUT (Shout Out Unspoken Truth), a GW student organization.

Curd Knüpfer authored “Diverging Projections of Reality: Amplified frame competition via distinct modes of journalistic production” for Journalism Studies.

Political science PhD candidate Brittany Lewis was featured in the WUSA-CBS 9 (online) article “Miss Black America tells us why she's championing domestic violence.”

Ira Lurie was awarded a $275,221 grant from the U.S. Department of Justice to investigate the use of gas chromatography with tandem ultra violet and mass spectrometric detection for the analysis of emerging drugs.

Jason Osder participated in an Apollo Theater conversation on problems in urban American.

Michele F. Pacifico, MA ’83, was inducted as a Fellow of the Society of American Archivists.

Daniele Podini received a $492,892 grant from the U.S. Department of Justice for a project titled “Massively Parallel Sequencing of 89 Microhaplotypes for the Selection of an Operational and Effective Subset for Forensic Applications.”

Jozef H. Przytycki co-authored "Homotopy type of the circle graphs complexes motivated by extreme Khovanov homology” in Journal of Algebraic Combinatorics with Marithania Silvero, a former visiting student from Spain.

Shira Robinson lectured on "The Past As Present: Reflections on the 70th Anniversary of 1948" at New York University's Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies.

Jennifer Sakai is featured in the FotoWeekDC 2017 show.

James Sham is featured in the exhibit Appealing to the Populace at Humboldt Universität ​Berlin.

Janet Steele moderated three sessions at the Ubud Writers and Readers Festival.

David Szakonyi's “Renting Elected Office: Why Businesspeople Become Politicians in Russia” was awarded the 2017 Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize  by the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies.

Cheryl W. Thompson gave a presentation to journalists in the Investigative Reporters and Editors Watchdog Workshop on using data and documents.

Nikki Usher authored “Re-thinking Trust in the News” in Journalism Studies.

Corcoran graduate student Margaret Wroblewski was featured in the WRC-NBC 4 article “Photographer Documents Stories of Women Harassed on Metro.”