March 2023 Noteworthy

March 8, 2023

Three TSPPPA students and three TSPPPA recent graduates were selected as finalists for the Presidential Management Fellows Class of 2023.

Parker Blackwell, BA ’23, (Archaeology, Classical Studies) was chosen as a Gates Cambridge Scholar and will begin her studies at the University of Cambridge this fall.

Douglas Boyce (Composition) performed sgraffito by Gregory Oakes and Marianne Parker at Epiphany Music in Chicago.

Dana Tai Soon Burgess (Dance) discussed his memoir Chino and the Dance of the Butterfly at a National Press Club book event.

Reid Davenport, BA ’12, (Media and Public Affairs) won the Truer than Fiction Award at the Independent Spirit Awards for his film I Didn’t See You There.

Vanessa Northington Gamble (American Studies) authored a review in JAMA Internal Medicine on the role of Black civil rights activists in the history of medical education in the United States.

Noelia Gomez, BS ’98, MA ’00, (Economics) and Danny Rouhier, BA ’03, (Political Science) were inducted into the GW Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022.

Ling Hao (Chemistry) received a $100,000 Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement.

Valentina Harizanov (Mathematics) is part of a Focused Research Group that received a $1.5 million National Science Foundation (NSF) grant to study definability and computability over arithmetically significant fields.

Carly Jordan (Biological Sciences) received a five-year, $2 million NSF award for Improving Undergraduate STEM Education, a project to assess the impacts of Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences using digitized Natural History Collections data.

Andy McMillan, BFA ’06, (Photojournalism) premiered his first feature documentary film titled Mississippi River Styx at the Big Sky Documentary Film Festival in Missoula, Montana.

Graduate student Emma Metzler (Speech-Language Pathology) published her research article “Self-Efficacy for Clinical Tasks Among Speech-Language Pathology Graduate Students” with the American Speech–Language–Hearing Association.

Damien O'Halloran (Biological Sciences) was among the recipients of a $444,125 National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases award to explore pyrantel resistance in hookworm nematodes.

Nina Seavey (Media and Public Affairs) won a Silver Signal Award for her podcast MY FUGITIVE in the Best Historical Limited Series category. She also authored the chapter “Surveillance and Subversion of Student Activists, 1967–1970: Standoff in St. Louis” in Left in the Midwest.

Eiko Strader (Public Policy, Sociology, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies) co-authored the article “Beyond social equity: Talking social justice in public administration” in Public Administration Review.

Maywadee Viriyapah, BA ’21, (Political Science, Fine Arts) and Isabel Wolfer, BA ’19, (History) were among 18 GW undergraduate and graduate students selected to the U.S. government’s Fulbright Scholars program.

Maryland State Delegate Joe Vogel, BA ’19, (Political Science) co-sponsored a bill in the Maryland House of Delegates to mandate testing for fentanyl when health care providers request a toxicology screening. He was featured in The Baltimore Banner.